ECE PhD Student Wins Two Prestigious Awards

Congratulations are due to Seahee Hwangbo, an ECE Ph.D. student under the supervision of Dr. Yong-Kyu Yoon, who has been awarded two prestigious awards—the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S) Doctoral Research Grant, and second place in the IEEE International Microwave Symposium (IMS) Student Paper Competition.

The IEEE AP-S Doctoral Research Grant provided Ms. Hwangbo a $2,500 grant and was awarded in April of 2016.

The program awards up to ten PhD fellowships each year to encourage students to pursue a career in the area of electromagnetics. The awards are intended to support students involved in project work directed by a faculty member at their institution who is a member of the IEEE Antenna and Propagation Society.

The title of her project, under the supervision of Dr. Y.K. Soon, was “Millimeter-wave Wireless Interconnects for Intra-/Inter chip Communications using Through Glass Via (TGV) Disc-loaded Antennas in 3D-IC.”

At the IMS, Ms. Hwangbo’s paper, entitled “Cu/Co Metaconductor Based High Signal Integrity Transmission Lines for Millimeter Wave Applications,” took second place in the Student Paper Competition, among 390 submissions, with 24 finalists and four winners.

Students were required to give a technical talk of 25 minutes and participate in a three-hour poster session. The purpose of the SPC is to recognize outstanding technical contributions from individual students and the paper selection criteria are originality, quantitative content, clarity, interest to Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) membership, and technical areas of the work.