Tabrizian Selected As Hastings Faculty Fellow

During the recent virtual meeting of the ECE External Advisory Board Meeting on April 23, Professor and Chair John Harris made an exciting announcement regarding the Alan Hastings Faculty Fellow. This year, in recognition of his superior work in the area of radio frequency micro- and nano-electro-mechanical resonators and transducers, Dr. Roozbeh Tabrizian was announced as the Alan Hastings Faculty Fellow for 2020–2023.

The Alan Hastings Faculty Fellow was created in 2017 with a generous gift from ECE alumnus Alan Hastings (BSEE ’85). The inaugural fellowship was awarded to Dr. Toshikazu Nishida for a three-year term. Faculty Fellow endowments honor faculty members who continue to inspire students and who are attempting to solve society’s most challenging problems. Hasting’s endowment will provide additional funding for the exploration of new and creative concepts in Dr. Tabrizian’s lab.

Alan Hastings

Alan HastingsAlan Hastings earned a bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from UF in 1985. He joined Texas Instruments (TI) in 1986 and began his career as an IC designer in the Voltage Regulator group. He was named Member Group Technical Staff (MGTS) in 1995, and as his career progressed, achieved the ranks of: Senior Member Technical Staff (SMTS) and Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff (DMTS). He has been a TI Fellow since 2005 and was re-elected to the position in January 2015. Alan also supports the department through his many years of service on the ECE External Advisory Board.